Problem installing PHP/LSAPI

I encountered the following error while executing PHP/LSAPI installation step 4 from the Wiki:

username@slice:~/php-5.2.1/sapi$ tar -zxf php-litespeed-3.0.tgz

STEP 4:

username@slice:~/php-5.2.1/sapi$ cd ..
username@slice:~/php-5.2.1$ touch ac*
username@slice:~/php-5.2.1$ ./buildconf --force

MESSAGE/ERROR:

Forcing buildconf
using default Zend directory
buildconf: checking installation...
buildconf: autoconf not found.
You need autoconf version 2.13 or newer installed
to build PHP from CVS.
make: *** [buildmk.stamp] Error 1
The prior 3 steps all completed without error.

FYI: I am setting up a slicehost 256 VPS (w/ ubuntu) and have already installed litespeed successfully. I am a LINUX newbie, so I am unclear about steps to remedy this.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Dondi.

Dondi,

I ran into this, but fixed it via:

Code:
http://ftp.gnu.org/gnu/autoconf/autoconf-2.13.tar.gz
tar zfx autoconf-2.13.tar.gz
cd autoconf-2.13
./configure
make
make install
Then run the buildconf again. :)

Thanks layer.

I tried your suggestion (using the latest autoconf) and got the following error:

cd autoconf-2.61
./configure
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p
checking for gawk... no
checking for mawk... mawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether /bin/sh -n is known to work... yes
checking for expr... /usr/bin/expr
checking for gm4... no
checking for gnum4... no
checking for m4... no
checking whether m4 supports frozen files... no
configure: error: GNU M4 1.4 is required
Looks like I'm heading down a rabbit hole! Any suggestions?

Dondi.

Thanks again layer. However, I used the autoconf-2.13 and got essentially the same error. Here are the execution results:

username@slice:~/sources$ cd autoconf-2.13
username@slice:~/sources/autoconf-2.13$ ./configure
creating cache ./config.cache