Free -> Pro

Discussion in 'Install/Configuration' started by Robbban, Oct 11, 2005.

  1. Robbban

    Robbban New Member

    Hello

    I'm about to update my server with the Pro trial licens, if I install it can it just overwrite the old files and keep the configuration so my site won't be down for long?

    Thanks
  2. mistwang

    mistwang LiteSpeed Staff

    An upgrade will not overwrite your configuration. But, be careful not to use lsws/DEFAULT/html as your document root.
  3. Robbban

    Robbban New Member

    OK. So it would be 100% safe to just download the trial pro version and run install.sh upgrade, of course stop all running lshttpd services and then start them again with no problems at all? The current installed version is free.
  4. ts77

    ts77 New Member

    As with every software-upgrade ... make a backup of the whole directory first.
    From my experiences, the upgrade/downgrades or whatever are painless and nearly 100% safe ;).

Share This Page