X-Real-IP Header Support?

Hi there,

I am new to the http headers, kindly bear with me if I'm not using the right term to describe my request.

I know Litespeed support X-Forwarded-For, but not X-Real-IP. Wonder if you can add support for it? The ddos protection that I use only sends X-Real-IP and they refused to send X-Forwarded-For. I know you cannot do something for my sole benefit, but I'm just sending in this query. :) My WHM/cPanel all detect the proxy IP instead of client IP whenever there are bruteforce attacks (just one of the examples). I am not sure how complex it can be in order to implement it, but i wonder if this is something considerable? Or is there alternative way that could convert X-Real-IP into X-Forwarded-For so that my whole server would read the real client IP?

Thank you :)

NiteWave

Administrator
Hi, the X-Real-IP should be in X-Forwarded-For, or part of X-Forwarded-For

to confirm this, you can create a phpinfo page and check
_SERVER["HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR"]

to let the value of X-Real-IP header seen by php script, you can add a rewrite rule in .htaccess
RewriteCond %{HTTP:X-Real-IP} ^(.*)$
RewriteRule (.*) - [E=X-REAL-IP:%1]

so in your phpinfo page, you can find
_SERVER["X-REAL-IP"]
is there.

compare the value of
_SERVER["X-REAL-IP"]

Hi, the X-Real-IP should be in X-Forwarded-For, or part of X-Forwarded-For
Hi NiteWave, I didn't know that, thanks for letting me know. :)

to confirm this, you can create a phpinfo page and check

to let the value of X-Real-IP header seen by php script, you can add a rewrite rule in .htaccess

so in your phpinfo page, you can find
_SERVER["X-REAL-IP"]
is there.

compare the value of
_SERVER["X-REAL-IP"]
Seems like this only applies to the application/script level instead of server level? Can you clarify? Thank you :)

Hi NiteWave,

Here's a more detailed explanation with what I'm trying to do.

My server is installed with Litespeed and using cPanel/WHM.