Unable to renew letsencrypt cert on Ghost blog behind litespeed - proxypass needed?

c0ldshadow

Hi LiteSpeed Community and Staff,

I am running into a problem where my Ghost blog running behind a litespeed server can't renew the letsencrypt SSL cert, and I think the solution may involve needing to add something to my htaccess. My Ghost blog is running behind "external app" feature in the vhost. I used paid litespeed consult hours to set this up as I'm not an expert in this area.

certbow renew output (all of my other sites work perfect, but the ghost blog is behind

Code:
  /etc/letsencrypt/live/removed.com/fullchain.pem (failure)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
1 renew failure(s), 0 parse failure(s)

IMPORTANT NOTES:
 - The following errors were reported by the server:

Domain: removed.com
   Type:   unauthorized
   Detail: Invalid response from
   http://removed.com/.well-known/acme-challenge/WTjlQKsQCfEfBTqCeXXo1pCjJ0he-YDFuYvkd-mRU6g:
   "<!DOCTYPE html>\n<html style=\"height:100%\">\n<head><title> 503
   Service Unavailable\r\n</title></head>\n<body style=\"color: #444;
   marg"

To fix these errors, please make sure that your domain name was
   entered correctly and the DNS A/AAAA record(s) for that domain
   contain(s) the right IP address.
The DNS is correct. Others have had similar issue and it appears the solution may involve ProxyPass or maybe some htaccess changes, but this is a bit beyond my level of understanding:

https://community.letsencrypt.org/t/cant-renew-letsencript-cert-on-my-ghost-blog/33941
https://community.letsencrypt.org/t/solved-problems-issuing-a-certificate/17987/4

From reading the above it appears maybe something isn't redirecting probably with the /.well-known/acme-challenge URL which would require me to change something in my config somewhere.

Please advise.. thanks so much for the help. I am running litespeed 5.3.6

Jon K

Administrator
Staff member