Is the LiteSpeed Ruby LSAPI my best choice?

travisbell

Hey guys,

I've been using the LiteSpeed Ruby LSAPI and it works very well. Here's my question though, in another Apache environment I am really enjoying Mongrel and was wondering, with LiteSpeed, has anyone ever done any performance testing with different servers like Mongrel?

This just an open ended question really...

travisbell

Cool. Thanks.

I am curious. In regards to scalibilty and RoR, would it better to use LiteSpeeds built in load balancing OR something like Capistrano (or even Mongrel for that matter)?

I've been using LiteSpeed for over 2 months and do love it, don't mistake my questions here as anything but love.

Cheers,

mistwang

LiteSpeed Staff
It is the best choice to use LiteSpeed + Ruby LSAPI, no need of load balancing if it is only one server setup.
Mongrel will require mongrel_cluster + load balancing capable web server in production, LiteSpeed is one of those, however it is not recommended due to configuration complexities and lower performance.

travisbell

It is the best choice to use LiteSpeed + Ruby LSAPI, no need of load balancing if it is only one server setup.
Right but what I am wondering is as my app grows and I DO need to scale it, is my best route LiteSpeed balancing? Or somethig like Capistrano? I have no problem paying for a good product.

Ie. scale just Rails, or is it wiser to scale the LiteSpeed environment? In this example lets assume all I have running on these systems is LiteSpeed. No mail, no DB...

mistwang

LiteSpeed Staff
In a load balancing environment, we still recommend using LiteSpeed + LSAPI on each cluster node, should be faster than running Mongrels.
Capistrano does not do the load balancing directly, it manages all Mongrel instances in a cluster. It can be used to manage a LiteSpeed cluster as well.

Please take a look at:
http://www.litespeedtech.com/support/wiki/doku.php?id=litespeed_wiki:capistrano