multiple rails apps on a single IP/top level domain

Ahh...I think I fugured it out. You create a plain old vhost, go to the Context menu, then add a new context of type Rails. Right?

Well that was pretty painless.

I have a permission problem now, or at least I think it is, and I'm not sure how to fix it.

I can access static content in the Rails public folder, but when I try to do something Rails specific I get an error. I took a peek in the rails dev log and I see "permission denied - /home/ubuntu/dev/myapp/config/../tmp/sessions//ruby_sess.1022f62520257af". Then a stack trace to a bunch of exceptions in rails actionpack, mostly to do with session objects.

If this is a permssion problem, I'm not sure who to give them to and what kind.

I'm pretty new to linux, all of my rails development has been done on Windows. I've got a lot done over the past few days, but so many new things are being thrown at me I get a little stuck sometimes. I did manage to get Ubuntu, Litespeed, MySQL, rails, ruby, a bunch of gems installed without any trouble. So far the learning curve has been alright.

thanks. ya..it was time to bite the bullet and get a proper dev box running. I was using Cygwin but I found a lot of things I needed wouldn't compile.

Ok, I checked the folder ownership and both 'public' and 'tmp' have the same file owner, file group and permission set which is 'ubuntu'.

'ubuntu' is the default user for the Ubuntu image I installed yesterday.

Just to I don't leave anything important out...so what I did was install Ubuntu, got all the tools installed and test (mysql, ruby..so on). Then I went to the command line, made a directory called 'dev', in my home directory. Ran 'rails myapp', just for a small test. Told Literserver about it. Lite server will serve the raisl app, but rails throws that exception when I click "About your application's environment" on the default page.