[Solved] Unable to access files outside of VH_ROOT

Hi, I am fairly new to LiteSpeed and after setting up my virtual host everything seems to be working fine except from one thing. I am unable to access any of my files outside of the specified VH_ROOT.

I have ensured that the option "Restrain" is not enabled.

What I want to do is to be able to include a file that another program uses, for instance
/home/username/logs/ops.txt

Any heads up on what to look for would be much appreciated!

Error that occurs is just "An unexpected error occurred. Please try again later.", which leaves me much confusion.

Edit: also should mention that I made sure everyone has read permissions for the file, so that is not the issue afaik.

Last edited:
I am not sure if you read my question right. Cause after reading what it does, it seems to do the complete opposite of what I want to do.
"open_basedir, if set, limits all file operations to the defined directory and below.", what I want to do is the opposite.
I want to be able to include a file outside of my www folder, adding open_basedir broke the entire website as none of the actual website files are in that folder. Apache allows this by default, is there no other way to get it to work the same way?

webizen

If open_basedir is not empty, then you can add additional path to that (hence the suggestion) so that files from other places can be included. You can verify your open_basedir setting via a phpinfo page. if open_basedir is already empty (not set), then no need to worry about this.

please also check error.log or stderr.log for any indication. btw, what server environment and lsws version are you running?

phpinfo reports
open_basedir no value no value
I am running LiteSpeed 4.1.1 Standard in an CentOS 5.6 X86_64 environment.